Nudniks

Danielson’s Northeast Oil And Propane Price Gauges Customer For Kid’s Birthday Party Then Vows Internet Lawsuits, IP Traces After Customer Leaves 1 Star Review

"I Am Turtleboy" now available on Amazon

Danielson’s Northeast Oil And Propane Price Gauges Customer For Kid’s Birthday Party Then Vows Internet Lawsuits, IP Traces After Customer Leaves 1 Star Review

Want to advertise with Turtleboy? Email us at [email protected] for more information.

The Turtleboy Sports, Lost Boys of Turtle, Turtleboy Fallout Shelter, and Turtleboy Safe Space have all been unpublished. Turtleboy Refugees is suspended for 7 days. To keep up with our posts follow the Turtleboy Sports Black Lives Matter Page by clicking on the image above. Also follow Turtleboy Smiles and Sunshine, and Turtleboy Sports Alpha Backup Page.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I feel bad for anyone who doesn’t have gas heat. I’ve done the oil thing before. It’s expensive and I’ve had nothing bud bad experiences with most oil companies I’ve dealt with. The problem of course is that the tank runs out of oil, whereas gas lines don’t run out of gas. And they love to fill you up when you’re moving out and stick with the bill. Maybe not all oil companies, just the ones I’ve dealt with.

But I’ve never seen anything quite as awful as Northeast Oil and Propane out of Danielson CT. Check out the back and forth they’re having with customers on their Facebook page:

That’s how it started – with a one star review. A local business owner who runs a kid’s craft shop is out of propane. He called to have the tank filled five days in advance. This five day waiting period, according to his review, was considered “quick service,” and came with a $200 charge. Did it definitely happen this way? Not sure since I wasn’t there. But considering we’re dealing with an oil company, I believe it 1,000%. And if some company tried this shit on me the one star review would just be the beginning.

So what would you do if you were the business owner:

A. Privately send the customer a message in which you apologize and promise to send over a driver right away at no charge while kindly asking him to take down the review.

B. Get snarky and whine about how understaffed you are.

Whoever runs the Northeast Oil & Propane Facebook page chose option B:

Look, I don’t give a shit if your drivers are working 16 hours a day 6-7 days a week. You know what that means? You’re understaffed. Hire people or don’t run a business. It’s your job to make sure customers needs are met. Your problems are not our problems.

Luckily the customer, who remained polite throughout the exchange, was able to explain this more diplomatically than Turtleboy would have:

That basically sums it up right there – you’ve got the customers by the balls. What are they gonna do? Not have heat? He’s also got a birthday party for kids coming up, so you’d have to be the worst businessman ever at this point not to just throw this guy a bone. After all, the customer has acknowledged that you have all the leverage. Do you really wanna be the guy who ruined a 6 year old’s birthday party?

Apparently Northeast Oil & Propane’s policy is, “hold my beer”:

“We have no room for people like you.”

As in, they don’t want business from legitimate business owners who think five days advance notice should be enough for an oil company to make sure a 6 year old’s birthday party doesn’t turn into a Manitoba moonwalk. Also, pretty sure you don’t want to tell customers to go to your competitors because you don’t have room for them. Ya know, because they give you money and shit.

Remarkably the customer still kept his cool:

That’s when it was time to summons Richard N. Vulva, Esq:

Wait…..what? So now he’s blaming him for other people’s bad reviews that came before his? Oh, and Northeast Oil & Propane, which has 37 followers on Facebook, also has an IT department that can prove when customers direct other people to “slander” a business page with false reviews. I never finished my MBA from the Salter School, but I’m pretty sure you should never utter the phrase, “We will be going after you,” when speaking to a customer. Just sounds a little aggressive. Nah mean?

The customer’s negative review did spark more negative reviews from others who couldn’t believe the dumpster fire that is Northeast Oil & Propane’s Facebook page:

So what was Northeast Oil & Propane’s plan for dealing with this review? Accuse the woman of using foul language on her Facebook page:

Sure, they refuse to fill a propane tank for a kid’s birthday party, but they draw the line at foul language!

Looks like Attorney Richard N. Vulva has some more documents to draft…….

So this little, understaffed business in Danielson, which doesn’t have enough employees to fill a propane tank on five days notice, has both an IT department AND multiple lawyers on staff. Watch out dude, he got your IP address, and all your friend’s. Which gives him a 10 mile radius of where people are leaving these reviews, which definitely will give him enough evidence to prove slander in civil court. Definitely.

But wait, slander is SPOKEN defamation. The word he’s actually looking for of course is “libel.” We know this from our vast experience with slander lawsuits gone bad. And to commit libel you have to do a number of things, one of which includes knowingly lying. So what was the lie?

Oh yea, she called them scumbags running a scam. Which they are. Because make no doubt about it – anyone who price gouges in the winter time like this and tries to keep kids from having a birthday party is a scumbag who is actively running a scam. Even Vulva could’ve told you that!

The more people who left more reviews the more the lawsuits and IP addresses started adding up:

Oh yea, this will end well.

Shockingly their Google reviews are also piss poor, and it looks like the same brilliant individual who runs the Facebook page also monitors the reviews there as well:

Oh look, people complaining about the exact same thing months before this customer did. It’s almost as if this is a pattern.

And if you thought their skills on Facebook were top notch, their website, which is NOT riddled with tons of spelling mistakes, is state of the art. And they always update it with big news about great things their company has done:

Awkward.

I will say this in their defense – Facebook and Google need to be more responsive to business owners who become victims of fraudulent reviews. Seriously, how many times have turtle riders riddled a page with one star reviews before they finally just shut it down, despite the fact that we told you NOT to do that? We’ve seen many businesses we like attacked with one star reviews from people who never did business with them as well. Try calling up Google and getting them to take down fraudulent reviews. It’s about as easy as getting ahold of a human being who works for Facebook.

The fact of the matter is that Facebook and Google are the two most powerful companies in the world. When a company gets shitty Google reviews they no longer come up on page one. This directly leads to a loss of revenue. If Google and Facebook are going to allow anyone to leave a review, regardless of whether or not it is authentic, then Facebook and Google should be responsible for making sure fraudulent reviews are not allowed to remain.

Anyway, I’ve never dealt with an oil company quite like this. Even though some of the people who work in the after hours call centers are sassy, miserable women who smell like Keno and Newport 100’s through the phone, they still get oil to you when you need it. Usually that night. At the very least they’d send over a guy with 10 gallons just to get you through the night before sending the truck the next day. This customer called FIVE FREAKING DAYS in advance and they still wanted to charge him $200. Safe to say if I lived in the Connecticut corridor (I’d kill myself before it ever got to that though) I would choose another oil company to do business with. Guess that means we’ll be getting sued for slander. Oh well, add them to the list.

94 Comment(s)
  • March 4, 2018 at 1:23 am

    What a bunch of battyholes

  • My bald pussycat
    February 7, 2018 at 7:15 am

    I agree that situation will never happen to me , but that’s why gas sucks. It’s the whole tank and valve thing.
    Oil is easy. You can call and change companies anytime and the best companies are those that stock the oil and every other company fills from them and then adds to prIce. Leominster ice and oil is that kind of company , for oil and apparently ice wholesale.
    Lol. I have had them for 15+ yrs. and they are always 10-30 cents leas than any other around.
    I don’t know how gas is other than a pain in the ass.
    And this is just another example of how idiots should not be on the internet. They are not running the biz very well if that’s how they handle. Now they are shit , and they could have been hero’s and talked nice about at his biz. Now once this is died down, he is still gonna bad mouth in the area.

  • M
    January 23, 2018 at 7:47 pm

    This level of customer service is similar to the infamous UPS “You should have sent the damn package sooner” skit on Crank Yankers. Only difference is this isn’t a prank; they’re completely serious

  • The situation room
    January 13, 2018 at 10:24 pm

    I DID NOT just report this story to some various heating professionals websites, don’t worry. A few people on these sites have some official positions in CT with various state departments, if I did report it, they would see it and things would happen. In fact, the ball would already be rolling , that is of course if I reported it, which I did not!

  • Thumper
    January 13, 2018 at 7:53 pm

    Turtle boy, I generally like your stuff but you’re way off base here. I work in that industry and I have to tell you, for a guy that’s never done it a day in his life you seem to have a pretty strong opinion as to how it should run. Trying to keep up with the influx of calls and customer demands when the weather was colder for longer than it had been in literally 100 years was not “inconvenient”, it was impossible. No companies were staffed for the demand because the necessary staff to meet the requests was not attainable. Companies had to triage customers the way a hospital would during an emergency. It’s not like you can just “hire a guy”. Oil delivery, propane work, and furnace repair requires lots of licensing and training. I have no doubt that companies, even this one, were doing their best. I know the company I work for was but we were days behind with deliveries and service for customers who waited until everything went to hell and we couldn’t even keep up with what we had to at the minimum. Your article is way off base and just beating up an oil company….just like everyone loves!

    • Finn
      January 13, 2018 at 8:02 pm

      “[f]or a guy that’s never done it a day in his life you seem to have a pretty strong opinion as to how it should run.”

      I didn’t read it as TBS telling the oil company how to run their company. I read it as TBS reporting the cuntiness in which the oil company treated their customer.

      “Trying to keep up with the influx of calls and customer demands when the weather was colder for longer than it had been in literally 100 years was not “inconvenient”, it was impossible.”.

      It’s the nature of the beast. That’s their business. I don’t think they were equipped to handle the weather and the amount of customers they amassed. Instead of investing in their company and increasing their number of tanks, trucks, etc., they instead increased the number of hours their current workers worked and jacked the prices. Is that a sound business plan all around? Not really.

      “Your article is way off base and just beating up an oil company….just like everyone loves!”

      It was pretty spot on. Northeast should take this as a learning opportunity (but won’t because they are butt hurt). Instead of investigating IP addresses and overworking their current workers, perhaps they should focus on their current work processes. That is, where are their bottlenecks? What is taking up their resources, time, and money? Reinvest in figuring out logistics and stop blaming the customer.

      Finn

  • Julie Dowem
    January 12, 2018 at 12:40 pm

    Several years ago hey tried to illegally overcharge my mother by hundreds and harassed her – they are a very nasty company to deal with – dont give them your credit card info – they will carte blanche – and PS if you are reading this NE Propane – BRING IT ON – we still have the PROOF!

  • Fred Knessl
    January 11, 2018 at 10:30 am

    Well. A couple of truths here.
    1. It’s been really cold out
    2. Energy delivery people are having a tough time keeping up
    OK, Late on December 29th I checked my Oil tank. Found it to be low. My (Cut-Rate, no automatic deliveries) oil company was closed for the (long) weekend. So I called first thing on Tuesday morning. Took over an hour to get through. The Customer Service Rep (Spanish lady at the other end of the line) was wicked nice and told me they are being swamped and delivering on Thursday. Well it snowed on Thursday and they were delayed. So we’re into Friday.
    Monday 1/1 I put 13 gallons of Diesel in the tank. Ditto for Wednesday. The goddamn burner is running 22 hours a day at this point.
    Meantime I cleared a path through the snow to make it easy for the delivery to happen.
    Friday afternoon, still no delivery so I panic called and the same (wicked nice!) lady told me they they will be there and they are very busy. We chatted about the cold, I thanked her and carried on.
    Friday night at 10:15 the delivery guy came. He was also wicked nice and thanked me for the clear-out job. So crisis is over. I’m pissed that I didn’t tip him…
    I caused my low-oil problem. And dealt with it. See, I am a cheap SOB. So it was a problem I created.
    My sick wife, kids and grand kid were warm throughout. The Oil company was incredibly pleasant throughout. And eventually dealt with me. Just like they said they would.
    Energy companies were caught with their drawers down, same as me. Deal with things without being a prick and shit will get dealt with.
    Not judging the Crafts party guy. It sounds like he got caught with his drawers down, pushed at the Gas man, who had his own problems, and it fell apart fast.
    Peace, Fred

    • John James
      January 11, 2018 at 10:39 am

      Lets all go to Michael Capers facebook business page The Art Lab & Gallery and tell his customers how he treats others.

  • Hermis
    January 11, 2018 at 9:18 am

    Northeast Oil & Propane:
    Scumbag, douchebag, assholes!!!

    All their customers should find a new energy supplier. If anyone deserves to go bankrupt it’s Northeast Oil & Propane!!

    Hey Northeast Oil: Fuck You & your maggot lawyer!!

  • Thinker
    January 10, 2018 at 10:30 pm

    To all the smart ones in here: If you are booked out for 10 days already, is 5 days enough notice?

  • Finns a loser
    January 10, 2018 at 9:10 pm

    Finn doesn’t worry about gas because he’s such a blow hard he’s heating his moms basement as he fevorishly traces the oil companies family tree!

    What a fuckin loser!

  • Finns a loser
    January 10, 2018 at 9:05 pm

    Finn, you’re like ‘it’s my job to research this stuff’ lol. Is it really, is that what you do with your life? Dammit that’s so fucking sad lol.

    Go Go get em Finn internet Detective!

    Why not get a real job?

  • Caroline Schultz McFadden
    January 10, 2018 at 8:40 pm

    Finn you can be an entertaining young lady at times but really you should learn to shut the fuck up once in awhile.

    There’s no need to post about every persons comments everyday about every blog.

    Get a fucking life. Be a normal girl, get outside once in awhile. Maybe find a boyfriend?

    • Finn
      January 10, 2018 at 8:53 pm

      Caroline Schultz McFadden,

      Lick my love pump. I am happy that you follow me. I’ll never be a normal “girl”. That just could never happen.

      I am a vampire.

      🙂

      Lovingly,
      Finn

    • Finn
      January 11, 2018 at 12:12 am

      CSM (Imma vampire, but tired),

      “There’s no need to post about every persons comments everyday about every blog.”

      I can do as please, when I please and especially when see idiots like you posting. You dummies like to respond to TBS blogs, but when we respond back — suddenly we’re “losers”.

      Silly little twits.

      West Coast – or is it East Coast Baby,

      Fuck off,
      Finn

      • Finn-ished
        January 11, 2018 at 10:49 am

        Finn, you really think you are some high brow shit here, don’t you? You are “that” guy who thinks they are always right. Lets just throw away the encyclopedia set, Finn is here…. Above, you shit on someone for using the term “faggot” and then immediately use the word “queer” in the next sentence. Hypocrite much?? Or that photo sleuthing you did there. What a pathetic genius you are! Did you really think that was the owners family?? Are you that dumb? Or maybe it was a customer’s family. As they were filling the tanks, they peeked into the window and saw the perfect family basking in the heat and just had to have that pic for the website! No, its probably a stock photo. Most of us get it. You don’t. Instead of all that sleuthing, you could have just noticed the picture of the people by the firepit and noticed that there is a desert in the background. No deserts up here so the odds are they are focusing on the firepit and not the location. Get it Mr. Smartypants? Moral of the story is, you are a fucking idiot. Not nearly as smart as you think. Comment once or twice and then put a cap on it. No One likes a know it all.

        Fuck off,
        Finn-ished

        • Finn
          January 11, 2018 at 11:43 am

          “Finn, you really think you are some high brow shit here, don’t you?”

          I do indeed. 🙂

          “Above, you shit on someone for using the term “faggot” and then immediately use the word “queer” in the next sentence. Hypocrite much??”

          You’re not really good at picking up on satire – are you Daryl?

          “its probably a stock photo.”

          LOL — exactly why I think you hired a shitty web designer that put zero effort into put original pics- freshman effort.

          Suck It,
          Finn

  • Oh My
    January 10, 2018 at 8:24 pm

    Do want a real reason to bitch Michael Capers?

    Try delivering propane during a fucking blizzard when it’s -25 degrees outside at 11 O’clock at night when you should be home with your family but you have to make a ‘rush’ delivery because some pompous ass didn’t get his tank filled earlier and now he wants to have a fucking craft party and a puppet show you dick!

    • Finn
      January 10, 2018 at 8:42 pm

      Oh My (Daryl),

      “Try delivering propane during a fucking blizzard when it’s -25 degrees outside at 11 O’clock at night when you should be home with your family but you have to make a ‘rush’ delivery because some pompous ass didn’t get his tank filled earlier and now he wants to have a fucking craft party and a puppet show you dick!”

      Get fucked Daryl — you CHOSE to continue your family’s company. If you can’t stand the heat (oh wait – there wasn’t any heat…). You sound like a big pussy.

      Waaaaaahhhhhhh – you have to go out at 11pm to make $$ boo hoo hoo.

      Try being a cop that gets called to scene at 11pm to gets ZERO support when he/she gets there (at a fraction of the pay).
      Try being a paramedic that gets called to an accident at 11pm to pull a teenager out of a car because of drunk driver (at a fraction of the pay).
      Try being a fire fighter that gets call to a fire at 11pm and loses a colleague because someone wants to make a quick buck from property insurance (at a fraction of the pay).

      Awwwww – but poor Daryl wants our sympathy because some “faggot” wants honest service.

      Suck My Dick,
      Finn

      • John James
        January 11, 2018 at 10:22 am

        Hey Fin, how about you just get a job and leave granny’s basement. What a pathetic loser.

  • Finn
    January 10, 2018 at 8:01 pm

    Daryl B. Scott (aka Northeast Oil and Propane),

    AGAIN – your IT team stinks. For such a top notch operation, their web skills are sub par. Would you like an example?

    1. Go to your website and right click on the “picture perfect” woman and her 2 kids. Save as “ripped_off.jpg”.
    2. Open Google.com and do a reverse image search.
    3. Let the the giggles ensue.

    I laughed my ass off.

    Web Design 101 — Use your own pictures.

    My God, that was funny shit. You should fire the Larson Group. They are terrible.

    Thanks for the Laugh,
    Finn

    • Itsjustme
      January 10, 2018 at 10:47 pm

      They must be the same IT guys collecting ip addresses for their pathetic lawsuit.

      BTW I like your research and get a kick out of your comments.

      • Finn
        January 10, 2018 at 11:20 pm

        Itsjustme,

        Don’t thank me – thank “insomnia”. 🙂

        I’ve got kids that are 24/7 — i’m on here when they don’t want/need my attention. My partner (papa/mama bear) is here 24/7.

        Love,
        Finn

  • Oh My
    January 10, 2018 at 7:45 pm

    Does Michael Capers have a business page where I can give him a review?????

    I want to give him a negative review and say stop ruining kids Birthday parties you Mac Faggot!

  • surrounded by morons
    January 10, 2018 at 7:44 pm

    The comments in this section are littered with uninformed know-it-alls and people that have not even the slightest idea how to run a business, blog writer included.

    • Finn
      January 10, 2018 at 8:14 pm

      surrounded by morons (aka Daryl Scott),

      “[they] have not even the slightest idea how to run a business”

      You’re right. You don’t. We’re all watching you crash and burn because you couldn’t show simple courtesy, but rather decided to be snarky and righteous.

      I’m guessing you took over a family business (actually I know, I researched it – it’s what I do) and you didn’t put the effort and care that the founders did. It’s a shame.

      Finn

      • love
        January 10, 2018 at 9:56 pm

        Finn you should be an attorney if you’re not already!

        • Finn
          January 10, 2018 at 10:57 pm

          love,

          Much love to you (sincerely).

          but i’m not. 🙂

          Finn

          • John James
            January 11, 2018 at 10:19 am

            Nope just a moron calling everyone Daryl who has a different opinion. Did you ever thing people can see another side? Of course not. How about getting out of granny’s basement and get some sunlight.

      • mitch
        January 11, 2018 at 6:48 pm

        i’ve had a few disagreements with finn in the past but i have to go with finn on this one. when i was younger and money was tight i would try to find the lowest price for heat. those 375.00 dollar invoices left in my doorway every other week were breaking me. however, those cheap prices were usually some mom and pop company and the wife(unpaid) handles the calls, and usually not as tactfully as a professional. my advice…sign for automatic with the biggest name brand company. maybe a couple of cents more per gallon but professional service, big fleets of huge trucks, enough staff to handle calls for service etc. if you want pro service then you have to man up and pay. live and learn. and finn , try to tone down when people disagree, even if you think they are morons. everybody has a right to their opinions…just my two cents.
        thanx and happy new year all,
        mitch

        • Finn
          January 11, 2018 at 8:59 pm

          Thanks Michelle,

          “try to tone down when people disagree”

          Agree to disagree (where’s the fun in that?)

          ” even if you think they are morons. everybody has a right to their opinions”

          Agreed.

          “…just my two cents.”

          My God woman! Do you ever shut up? lol – just kidding.

          Kisses,
          Finn

        • Love our oil company
          January 11, 2018 at 10:34 pm

          We dont have automatic delivery because we got screwed over one year from a company who kept charging us for 150 gallons even though we didn’t need that many because they said that was their minimum they deliver. We asked if we could spread out our delivery so we could at least use that much and they said no, and that all automatic deliveries were on a set schedule.

          We did prepay one year to lock in the price and the price of oil ended up going way down that year and we were stuck paying a lot more than people who didn’t prepay.

          We do use the same company now and have for a while, and I’ll tell you why, customer service. The day they first ever came to our house was the day we found out our 7 month old fetus (baby) had something in her brain they thought was a brain tumor. It was three days before Christmas and my normally shy, keeps everything to himself husband for some reason ended up telling the delivery guy as we had just got home from the doctors. We didn’t know it at the time but the company was owned by a Christian and the majority of the employees were Christians. The delivery driver asked my husband if he could pray for us, and if he could pray with him. They even filled our bone dry tank for free.

          Shortly after he left the owner personally called us and asked if he could add us to his prayer chain at his church without mentioning our names. We had an appointment on Christmas eve with a maternal fetal specialists and it brought comfort to me knowing hundreds of people who didn’t know me, not a thing about me, didn’t even know my name were praying for my little girl.

          If all that wasn’t enough already, they also sent us the biggest bouquet of flowers I had ever seen with all their signatures and kind words on the card. I seriously have never seen any company like it before. It has been several years, and seems like even the new drivers know who we are and our story.

          If that isn’t a great company, I don’t know what is.
          Sorry for such a long comment. 🙂

  • Oh My
    January 10, 2018 at 7:29 pm

    I can believe the arrogance of this company, and what about the childrens craft party???

    Oh just shut the fuck up you faggot! They are a private company and they can set their prices at whatever they want. You don’t like it go somewhere else.

    It’s not like Johnny the faggot craft guy had no warning the deep freeze was coming and only a douche let’s his tank get down to less than half.

    Oh goodness what am I gonna do with the kids at the craft party?? Here’s an idea, let them go outside have a snowball fight and build Igloos like normal kids!

    Sometimes private companies just don’t give a shit about you and they don’t have to.

    Just move on. Use Turtleboy for example, after Facebook dumped him did he cry like a little girl? No he picked his chin up and moved on to another friendship site like ‘Jennifers BFF’s FEVA.com’ of some other bullshit. Why? BECAUSE HE’S A MAN!

    • Finn
      January 10, 2018 at 8:31 pm

      Oh My (Daryl),

      You’re having a meltdown – aren’t you? Have a seat. I’ll get you some apple juice and some animal crackers. Your blood sugar is down.

      “Oh just shut the fuck up you faggot!”

      Faggot? LOL – The word idiots use when they don’t know how to argue back effectively. Is that still a word grown men use?

      “You don’t like it go somewhere else.”

      He did. A lot of people did.

      “Oh goodness what am I gonna do with the kids at the craft party?? Here’s an idea, let them go outside have a snowball fight and build Igloos like normal kids!”

      Only libtards and queers play music and paint- amirite?! Every one knows that. My kids (boy and girl) play hockey (danglers) and BOTH take ballet. Imagine that.

      Get Fucked Daryl,
      Finn

  • Ann Flaherty
    January 10, 2018 at 6:39 pm

    The only thing that this company did wrong was respond to the guy on facebook. The craft store guy waited too long to call for a delivery. Most propane companies send out a letter each year to their non automatic customers advising them of the advantages of automatic and disadvantages of calling for a delivery. The craft store guy knew he needed to give notice. The demand increased because of the bitter cold and priority always goes to automatic delivery customers. Those gages aren’t meant to be 100% accurate-just a guide. So if he was relying on the gage, shame on him. I doubt it was at 30%. I am quite sure it was far lower and the guy misjudged how quickly he would go through the propane in the record setting cold spell. If anyone is at fault for ruining a kid’s birthday party, it’s the guy who runs a business and doesn’t plan for cold weather. Was this his first winter in New England? Hope it’s his last if he is treating a fellow small business owner in such an unjust manner.

    • Precious Snowflakes are Melting
      January 10, 2018 at 6:44 pm

      /thread

    • Oh My
      January 10, 2018 at 7:39 pm

      Fucking right Ann! If anybody should be put on blast it’s the asshole who’s ruining the kids birthday party.

      Look at me I have a business holding kids birthday craft parties but I’m to stupid to order my gas on time!

      You can bet your fucking ass craft boy could never own or run an oil company. Shit this loser is lucky he can tie his shoes in the morning!

  • Light One Up
    January 10, 2018 at 6:11 pm

    Gauges?
    You mean gouges?

  • cavman
    January 10, 2018 at 5:23 pm

    His drivers are working 16 hours a day, 6-7 days a week? So he is admitting publicly his company is in violation of multiple DOT laws then. Drivers can only drive 14 hours a day if using the correct log book, and are required 34 consecutive hours off weekly.

    • Meg
      January 10, 2018 at 10:49 pm

      Hahaha I thought the same thing lmao

    • John James
      January 11, 2018 at 10:12 am

      No, DOT has waivers until Jan 28th so they can work longer hours without rest so people like Michael can still bitch. He would have to wait 10 days if there was no waiver.

  • Hugh Jass
    January 10, 2018 at 4:52 pm

    TB you should “sue” this nudnik just like you are going to “sue” FB any day now… snicker.

  • Previous Customer
    January 10, 2018 at 4:31 pm

    I have used this propane company in the past. They have a set delivery day for each area they service. A delivery outside of your normal day would qualify as an emergency. I never had any issues with their service or their customer service. I simply moved and no longer use propane.

    • Kim g
      January 10, 2018 at 4:34 pm

      Thats not true of any oil or propane company lol they don’t have only certain days and even if it was there were five flipping days to choose from and you cannot say with a straight face they don’t go to that area during their 16 hour days 6-7 days a week ugh

  • Ralph
    January 10, 2018 at 3:47 pm

    Family business ? … inbreeding ?

  • Itsjustme
    January 10, 2018 at 2:10 pm

    Hey TBS don’t you guys really have everyone’s ip addresses, because it looks like Northeast Oil has his friends commenting here to disagree with you?

    • Give a Lib A Throat Punch
      January 10, 2018 at 6:40 pm

      Nah – just people that aren’t entitled snowflakes or millennials that realize the world doesn’t revolve around them. You know … adults.

      Good thing this company isn’t in MA. All these whining pea brains would get their Nazi AG Maura Healey to bully this company until they were making free deliveries to all these twerps that think the rules don’t apply to them.

      Another TB fail, unfortunately. Looking more and more that getting into fake news like the MSM is NOT a recipe for success. Do better.

  • Beefcake
    January 10, 2018 at 1:12 pm

    Sorry, but I would side with the business on this one. They are a bit abrasive but you realize they have been getting their ass kicked the last two weeks with pissed off people who ran out of fuel? My furnace has not stopped running in the last two weeks of this cold snap. Fuel is being burned 200-300% faster than normal. They are not understaffed, they just got caught in a cold snap. They can hire more people to do what? Drive the imaginary truck that they dont have?? Or should they have a backup truck in case this happens again in the next 20 years? Now, they can focus on their contract customers or let the cheap skates cut the line? They will focus on the core contract customers. You want to cut the line? Fuck you, pay me. I see nothing wrong with this. Is 5 days advance notice reasonable? Yes, except when you get caught in a 20 yr. cold snap and you are running your trucks non stop just to keep the contract customers filled. Definitely the guy should keep his pie hole shut about the internet lawsuits but realize how many times he has been called an asshole in the last two weeks and Im sure anyone of us would explode on the first douchnozzle who slammed the ratings because they didnt get in the front of the line. Fuck that!

    • qs
      January 10, 2018 at 1:33 pm

      The company’s website says “24-Hour Emergency Heating Service” not 5 -Day Emergency Heating Service.

      The company is blatantly in the wrong, and there are many consumer protections to help against price gouging. I only hope there is one for this circumstance. In the long run, the company is going to get a bad reputation and lose a lot of revenue.

      • Beefcake
        January 10, 2018 at 2:38 pm

        Yea, EMERGENCY. Meaning you can get it but it will cost. Look at any plumber or HVAC anywhere in NE and you can get emergency service at “emergency” rates. Most will hit you $200 just to show up after hours. Look, im not completely defending the place. I have never used them. Maybe they are asshats and deserve some bad ratings. I am only looking at this cold snap and what they did. Like I said, up until the lawyer comments, I was in agreement with the business.

        • Kim g
          January 10, 2018 at 4:30 pm

          5 DAYS IS NOT EMERGENCY

          I LIVED IN WEST MILFORD AND HEWITT NJ WHERE WE STILL HAD SNOW IN MAY believe me i could call on a monday morning and as long as its a business day they would come that day or the next! NEVER have i heard of a $200 fee for a delivery 5 days later they are screwing people over.

          Everyone in west milford, hewitt, vernon and most of sussex county which is all northern nj has septic, wells, propane & friggen oil in addition to wood burning stoves. We went through 3 plus cords of wood and i did not have a huge home.

          If i was him i would sign up for auto delivery then fucking cancel it after the first fill after of course setting up a new company or better yet get his own tank and then he can call anyone at anytime which is what most people up here do

          The house i just bought had a brand new oil tank we should have sold because we have a 203k loan so instead had them hook up the gas from the street and the house needed new furnace etc

          • John James
            January 11, 2018 at 9:51 am

            He had to wait 5 days for his delivery. There was no extra charge to wait. He was complaining that if he wanted it sooner it would be $190 emergency delivery after hours. That is not gouging. He then bashed the company publicly so the decided to cancel the delivery. Do you blame them? Its like going to a restaurant to eat and telling them they suck. Then they tell you to leave and you get mad and bash the company.
            He plays the poor kids with no heat. Wrong, He’s pissed because the party canceled because he’s a poor business man and blames everyone else for his own faults.

      • Johnny Walker
        January 10, 2018 at 8:44 pm

        Where did the company advertise anything was free?

    • Itsjustme
      January 10, 2018 at 2:08 pm

      How do you explain the bad reviews from a year ago that have nothing to do with the current cold snap?

      • Independent Thinker
        January 11, 2018 at 7:01 am

        I didn’t look at any of their reviews, but I’ve head of people giving a restaurant a bad review when they can’t get seated due to the fact that there is a waiting list, which usually means it’s a pretty good place.

        Too many people expect you to drop everything and jump for them.

        • Itsjustme
          January 11, 2018 at 8:42 am

          Why are you commenting all over an article you didn’t read then because those reviews I am referring to are within the article?
          3
          Also, your restaurant analogy review, and the reviews given to this company are two very different things, and makes zero sense.

    • Linda
      January 10, 2018 at 9:21 pm

      Hey, people pay extra to cut the line at that stupid Disney place right? You want to cut the line, pay the man. Or get some electric heaters and plug them in.

    • Too Tall Tim
      January 26, 2018 at 1:30 pm

      Yes, BUT…. why is it that for a simple fee of $200.00 they become less busy and are (then) able to come to the customers assistance.
      I’m so glad we got a natural gas line coming into the house. Where I live it is cheaper (more economical) than getting oil or propane.

  • juror seven esq.
    January 10, 2018 at 1:02 pm

    It’s to bad that people have to rely on propane as a primary source of heat. Natural gas from utilities such as Eversource is so much more affordable. You don’t have to call for delivery, worry about running out or have a tank on your property, which can be dangerous.
    Unfortunately it is not universally available. In this area of CT, I’m guessing that is the case. One can only venture a guess for that. Is it the anti-pipeline people? Businesses such as Northeast Propane and Oil that stand to be hurt if utilities went on a expansion campaign.

    • Don Dewey
      January 11, 2018 at 4:56 am

      juror seven esq.,
      No, one does not have to “venture a guess” why natural gas is not universally available. It has to do with population density, not anti-pipeline people. You’ll probably see a correlation between propane tanks and satellite dishes…there is not enough Return On Investment to run the natural gas pipes, just as it is cost-prohibitive to run cable when houses are too far apart.

  • Jocko Johnson
    January 10, 2018 at 12:00 pm

    This headline is unreadable.

    • PhilSimmsSucks
      January 10, 2018 at 2:32 pm

      JoJo, if you can’t read the headline then you’re a moron. That’s not Turtleboy’s problem – it’s yours.

      • PhilSimmsSucks
        January 10, 2018 at 2:33 pm

        That was supposed to say Jocko…not Jojo

        • Lolzies
          January 10, 2018 at 3:41 pm

          Lol I thought it was intentional! JOcko JOhnson

  • Bwaaaah!
    January 10, 2018 at 11:56 am

    Hank Hill would be terrified at this shit customer service. Are these people owned by Thatherton?

    • Livesinlowell
      January 10, 2018 at 9:20 pm

      Taste the meat, not the heat.

  • Becky Blueline
    January 10, 2018 at 11:25 am

    If this guy spent less time fighting with people on social media and more time out filling tanks, he probably wouldn’t have so many unhappy customers.

    • Finn
      January 10, 2018 at 11:43 pm

      Exactly.

  • 2wEntEe
    January 10, 2018 at 11:24 am

    Price gouge not gauge

    • Stupid Shit!
      January 10, 2018 at 11:31 am

      She doesn’t understand the difference! Just another dumb bitch working for TBS.

      • Pimpity Pimp Pimp
        January 10, 2018 at 12:17 pm

        Your sister works for me, but she’s too dumb and ugly to be my bottom bitch. I make her wash the laundry for the hoes who can count to five.

  • Finn
    January 10, 2018 at 11:14 am

    Daryl B. Scott (aka Northeast Oil and Propane),

    Your IT team stinks. IPs will not help you. That’s not how any of that works. A judge is *not* going to grant LE a subpoena over bad yelp reviews. By goodness you are dumb.

    You really like to take shots at people (calling them “scumbags”, but you’re not so perfect either :

    The following infraction details were found on this record:
    Court Case Number
    01413000448
    Court Date
    07/13/2001
    Court Case Description
    RHODE ISLAND TRAFFIC TRIBUNAL
    Court Offense
    OWNER OP. W/O INS -3RD OR SUB

    Fondly,
    Finn

    ps – your pontoon registration is expiring on 04/30/2018.

    pps – did you name it the “panty dropper”?

    • 2wEntEe
      January 10, 2018 at 11:37 pm

      Smells like bacon ^^^

      • Finn
        January 10, 2018 at 11:42 pm

        2wEntEe,

        Swing and a miss. I’d tell you if you were right, but you’re not. Sorry. I’d never be one to say, “We are the cops”. That’s just cringy.

        Finn

  • Independent Thinker
    January 10, 2018 at 10:21 am

    I’ve dealt with a few privately-owned oil companies that have given me outstanding service at a fair price. In all cases, I’ve had service contracts with them, whereby I’m on automatic delivery (I always pay within a few days of receipt of delivery), and I have a service contract, which means if I have no heat on a Friday night, they will show up and only charge for parts. Of course, if you are dealing with a discount oil company and then you call a full-service company and expect them to jump for you because your discount dealer is busy or because your equipment malfunctioned, then it will end up costing you if they decide they even want your business, and if you have a reputation for not paying your bills, then you will be treated as such. The gas company is a monopoly. You can’t shop around, but there are tons of family-owned oil businesses out there which affords one the opportunity shop around for the best one.

    The internet is nice in that you can review businesses before actually doing business with them, but at the same time, you can tell there are a lot of fake reviews, either from competitors or from those who expected more than they should have gotten.

    • Kim g
      January 10, 2018 at 4:32 pm

      Did you notice some are years old

  • Ann Flaherty
    January 10, 2018 at 10:16 am

    ANYONE who ran out of oil in the cold should be embarrassed. Oil and propane companies
    offer automatic delivery and also offer emergency deliveries for a fee. If you need to pay the fee it’s because you opted out of automatic delivery and allowed yourself to run out because of poor planning. The cold weather and the storm were both predicted well in advance. If the customers weren’t on automatic delivery in an emergency situation,and didn’t call well in advance for a delivery then they don’t get preference and don’t get the fee waived. Companies make this policy well known. The providers needed to work all employees overtime during the crisis to keep up with demand for the customer who were on automatic delivery. A birthday party held by an irresponsible parent shouldn’t get priority over a responsible customer who takes steps to make sure they don’t run out of oil or propane.

    • Heebie Peterson
      January 10, 2018 at 10:43 am

      Oh shut up. When it’s really cold like that, your oil/propane goes A LOT faster than what people are accustomed to. 5 day notice is PLENTY for any reputable oil company to make a delivery.

    • Independent Thinker
      January 10, 2018 at 10:57 am

      And don’t forget to dig a path for your oil man, and if you have a mailbox by the street, dig that out as well to make your mail man’s life easier.

      • Hugh Jass
        January 10, 2018 at 4:56 pm

        TB will pay all our heating bills once his big FB lawsuit is filed. He is a shoe-in to win that massive lawsuit. TB’ll heating his home with $100 bills in his wood stove he’ll clear so much money from his massive FB lawsuit.

    • #removethestickfromyourass
      January 10, 2018 at 11:00 am

      You missed where the customer said they had 30% of their tank left, they hadn’t ran out and were trying to plan ahead so this wouldn’t happen. That $200 fee is not something I would pay with a 5 day advance notice, that’s more than enough time for them to come out without it being an emergency. Quit judging people that might have an emergency, or clearly in this case they hadn’t ran out and gave plenty of notice.

      • Ann Flaherty
        January 10, 2018 at 5:17 pm

        If they had 30% or 1/3 of a tank and ran out in 5 days, then they need a delivery every 15 days in the very cold weather. Simple math. If they use that much propane, they should absolutely be on automatic delivery. If they were, the propane company would have them on a weekly schedule in this weather. I seriously doubt the guy called when he was down to 1/3. I would guess the guy went through way more oil in the cold spell, he didn’t check the gage and was down to close to 1/8 when he finally looked. If he were on automatic delivery and ran out, there would never be an emergency delivery fee because it was the propane company’s fault. When you run out when you aren’t on automatic delivery, it is no one’s fault but your own. I think the guy called on a Friday and considered the two weekend days as business days (which they aren’t) and thought he’d get a delivery over the weekend or on that Monday. They didn’t even get his request until Monday and were busy with their automatic delivery customers. Fact is, the guy waited and called too late and is trying to make it someone else’s fault.

    • Stunt Penis
      January 10, 2018 at 11:08 am

      I’m 100% with you Ann. The guy wasn’t on automatic delivery, because he’s a cheap bastard and wants to wait until he’s down to the last fizzle of propane before he calls for a tank-up. Then, he expects the propane company to drop everything and run over and fill his tank, giving him preferential treatment over those customers who are already on automatic delivery.

      Yes, oil and propane go faster when it is cold out, so guess what? The company has to respond to those automatic delivery customers first.

      Anyone who bitches simply doesn’t have a clue how oil and propane delivery work. It isn’t like there is an endless supply of propane or oil in their trucks. They have to return to a depot — which is only open certain hours — to refill the truck — so it isn’t as if you can just hire a few more drivers and have them work 24/7 — drivers have to have a CDL, Hazmat endorsement, TWIC card, pass a health screening etc.

      Let him freeze his ass off in the cold for a day or two, and then many he’ll learn his lesson and go on an automatic delivery schedule.

      • A chef
        January 10, 2018 at 10:51 pm

        He gave them a 5 day notice with 30% percent left. Any reputable oil/gas company would call that adequate time but I guess you aren’t the one who deals with an oil/gas company in your house hold. My home has oil for heat/hot water and gas for the stove so I am very well versed on business practices of ordering in a timely fashion.

    • Court
      January 10, 2018 at 1:03 pm

      I’m sorry, how is the parent irresponsible? The business owner called FIVE DAYS IN ADVANCE!? I’m confused

      • KJDS
        January 10, 2018 at 1:28 pm

        Ann is lacking in reading comprehension skills.

        • Ann Flaherty
          January 10, 2018 at 5:06 pm

          Ann knows exactly how it works. Read the post below. Oil and propane trucks can only hold a finite amount. If you aren’t on automatic delivery, you aren’t given priority. I seriously doubt this guy gave 5 days notice. Was it 5 business days? Did he call on a Friday night after hours and start counting the days? If he called on a Monday morning, then he can start counting the days. The customer was a business owner too. He knows he’s going to need oil. He knows he will need it sooner if it’s cold. If he doesn’t he should. Why did he wait til the middle of a predicted cold spell to call? If you have oil or propane and try to pace yourself with consumption, you are asking for trouble. Same thing happened in the 2015 storms. Did the craft shop owner remember that and not go on automatic delivery then? People used to create their own problems and complain. Now they create their own problems and take it online. Wonder if his craft shop has a website or facebook page? Would like to see if anyone poster there that the guy doesn’t plan ahead for bad weather?

      • Ann Flaherty
        January 10, 2018 at 6:26 pm

        You’re right. Not parent. Guy who was running the party.

    • Kim g
      January 10, 2018 at 4:24 pm

      First off i had oil for yrs and propane and was on auto delivery and had the same issue. They also over deliver filling the tank in may or june using the excuse “well its cheaper” umm no it isn’t cause it fluctuates but with gas at $4 a gallon a few yrs back they took full advantage and charged a fee for their trucks to drive to your house due to high gas costs.

      I had air in the line numerous times because the same oil company replaced the line with a very thin one which they knew full well according to my new company would freeze easily especially if they don’t put in the additive needed in cold weather that cost $15 for the season which turned into 5 visits a few yrs back

      Thank god i bought a house with natural gas and city water and sewer because these assholes will try anything to get you to sign up for auto delivery but the other thing is you are stuck at the price the year starts at so if the price goes down you are screwed and this was 5 flipping days!

      Some reviews are 5 yrs old

      They know they are holding him over a barrel and thats pretty sad and whoever writes the replies is an angry old bitch that needs the big d

    • Greg
      January 10, 2018 at 7:32 pm

      I hate to say it but Ann is 100% on the money here

    • Yehh
      January 14, 2018 at 10:00 am

      That Ann bitch must be a relative or the actual person on the east coast oil page lol skid.

  • Kevin Lynch
    January 10, 2018 at 10:15 am

    Is this the Action Oil of CT?

    • TortugaNino
      January 10, 2018 at 1:08 pm

      why the hell would you care!?! they ain’t going to deliver to Fitchburg or take your EBT card soo….buh bye!

Comment on this Post

*

RELATED POSTS
Nostalgic Facebook Commentators Are Really Pissed Off About Snow Days For Kids
Guy Who Tried Hiding In Tree To Flee Cops on I-290 Earns Moron of the Week Award
Auburn Fan Who Refused To Bet On Florida State Loses Chance To Win Free $25,000 Is Giant Moron