WTF

Scissorific Reporter Turned North End Restauranteur Jen Royle Doxxes And Publicly Shames A Guy For Bad Yelp Review After $50 Cancelation Charge

 

Loading...

Jen Royle is a sports reporter turned restauranteur who recently (months ago) opened up a restaurant called Table in the North End. I have to admit, she’s one of the more scissorable 43 year old women I’ve seen around these parts.

Table’s opening got a lot of coverage in the Boston media since she’s a blue checkmarked quasi-public figure. The food looks excellent, and it’s North End dining so obviously it’s not gonna be cheap ($85 a person). The problem is they don’t have a liquor license, but that’s clearly stated on their website.

It’s gotten a lot of good reviews, but when you’re in this industry you can’t please everyone. No matter how good your restaurant is, you’re gonna get bad reviews from time to time. Most business owners understand that and don’t take it too personally. Jen Royle is not one of these business owners. Here’s how she handled a recent 1 star review from a guy who was charged $50 for canceling his reservation after realizing that they didn’t serve booze there.

Just to review. A guy using the name Rob P posted a 1 star review after booking a table when Table was closed, then canceling it in the morning, and still getting charged a $50 fee. She had no idea who Rob P was since Yelp is anonymous, so she went through the information he used when he put his credit card down to book the table, then doxxed him and publicly shamed him for leaving a bad review.

That’s one way to conduct business.

In fairness, it does say on Table’s website that they are a dry restaurant and a $25 cancelation fee will be assessed.

But this guy got a $50 cancelation fee. Either way, doxxing a guy you took $50 from because he had the audacity to not be happy about this is an extraordinarily ratchet move. Especially since it seems to violate your own privacy policy, which is also listed on the website.

“We do not share your personal information we have collected from you….with your social networking sites….”

“Data will not be shared with third parties with or without user consent.”

Amended – unless you leave a bad Yelp review. Then we’re going to publicly shame you and our privacy policy no longer exists.

I get why these policies are a thing, and I get that this is on their website so the guy technically fucked up. But at the same time, what business did they lose as a result of this? Was there an empty table that night because of his cancelled reservation? If not, just give the guy his money back.

Rob Prager was not happy about it, and in fairness he seemed completely reasonable.

A normal business owner just walks away from this one. Not Jen Royle though. She doubled down.

Ummm….you have 30,000 Twitter followers and a blue checkmark. You publicly stated his name for all of your followers to see. But please, tell me more about how this isn’t publicly sharing his information.

She then went after pretty much every person in her mentions who suggested that this was probably not the best way to conduct business.

“He’s not a customer.”

He gave you $50 and got nothing in return. Not sure if that makes him a customer but you definitely profited off of him, and it cost you absolutely nothing.

Nevertheless she persisted.

Well, that’s one way to do business I guess. I can hardly say shit because we’re in the business of calling people out who shit on us for a living. But then again, we’re a blog, not a high end restaurant in the North End. If it doesn’t hurt her business then I guess more power to her, but if she’s doing as well as she claims to be doing I’d personally look into hiring a PR person to speak publicly for the business. This is Gaffney-esque.

Then again Jen Royle is no strangers to public feuds. Two years ago she had public tweet beef curtains cat fight with former ESPN trophy reporter Brit McHenry, who is a dreadful, miserable cunt herself.

Months later she challenged McHenry to a fight.

 

I guess the lesson here is, if you’re gonna book a reservation at Table, make sure to use a fake name. Because if you leave a bad review she’s gonna publicly shame and dox you on social media. If you leave a good review she’ll tweet that out though.

So be warned.

 

Please consider supporting local journalism by donating to the Turtle fund:




Follow us on Youtube, SoundCloud, Twitter, and Facebook.

Hello Turtle Riders. As you know if you follow Turtleboy we are constantly getting censored and banned by Facebook for what are clearly not violations of their terms of service. Twitter has done the same, and trolls mass reported our blog to Google AdSense thousands of times, leading to demonitization. We can get by and survive, but we could really use your help. Please consider donating by hitting the PayPal button above if you’d like support free speech and what we do in the face of Silicon Valley censorship. Or just buy our award winning book about the dangers of censorship and rise of Turtleboy: 

 

Loading...
72 Comment(s)
  • Too Tall Tim
    July 17, 2019 at 3:54 pm

    She actually cooks there?! How can she cook when her head is up her ass like that?

  • marilu
    July 17, 2019 at 9:08 am

    WOW she’s either really unprofessional or they caught her at the wrong time of the month.. probably both

  • Joe
    July 17, 2019 at 8:57 am

    The angry owner got her yelp page cleared of negative reviews left by turtle nation

  • Judge dread
    July 16, 2019 at 9:20 pm

    First off, what’s the chunk doing complaining on TWTR? He should just charge it back on his card. PROBLEM SOLVED.

    Second off, what’s this cunt doing that makes her so like eeeewwwww loook at me. I have a restaurant that will probably a in year or two. No licquor no drinky. Not cool if ur in the north end wanting a $85 meal.

    Both of them are idiots.

  • Bob "I Love My Daughter" Murchison
    July 16, 2019 at 4:48 pm

    $85 for Chef Boyardee in a can.

    First off, who are the fools who would want to try her restaurant? It’s at the far end of Hanover Street, no liquor license, and it’s FAMILY STYLE you have to eat with strangers. Fuck that.

    There are so many great places in the North End, I’d rather go to the chinese food place across from Saraceno.

    People need to get smart DON’T GO! Also, go to her Twitter some time and read the comments from the pussy white knights. UGH

  • TheCureForHope
    July 16, 2019 at 11:46 am

    Here’s my Yelp review.

    I linked to TB Daily as I think the ‘milder’ version of the article wouldn’t offend newcomers to the Turtle. I, however, much prefer spicy.

    Shame on this woman.

    Yelp review:

    “Disappointed in behavior of owner Jen after reading this Turtleboy article. Cannot imagine a business could survive when the owner has such poor customer service skills.

    tbdailynews.com/jen-royl…

  • F*u
    July 16, 2019 at 10:08 am

    She can keep the hugs. But I’ll take a bj for desert before I give her my credit card. Unless that ( and no teeth) she gets zero business).

  • What The Hell Happened To You Jen?
    July 16, 2019 at 2:53 am

    What a vile human being she is. Read her Twitter page and see what type of person she truly is. No matter what anyone writes about her or what the reviews are for that joke of a diner she runs the real proof is what she puts on the internet. Holy shit is this broad nuts. Her poor father would be sickened by what she’s doing

  • Shit Fingered Pot Stirrer
    July 15, 2019 at 9:21 pm

    La Royale w/ cunt cheese? No thanks….I’ll eat out Wendy first…

  • ANGRY GIANT
    July 15, 2019 at 8:47 pm

    They serve fish? Sounds like a great business opportunity to join forces with the Cat Cafe….. Diane? Sounds like this is a purr-fect match for a symbiotic business….

  • Bob hope
    July 15, 2019 at 8:47 pm

    Jen has been very angry. Since she was let go by NESN sports caster when she was told she has the the face for radio not TV…

  • WeRFucked
    July 15, 2019 at 8:25 pm

    Foul mouth cunt. She’s no lady, that’s for sure.

  • Reading is fundamental
    July 15, 2019 at 8:20 pm

    I didn’t read the whole article. I got to “their website says $25 fee” and you even left a pic, where it says $25 per person, doesn’t take a genius to realize it was a 2 person reservation. You’re about as illiterate as the slobs you write about. Dumb cunt lol

  • Sir Wilfred Death
    July 15, 2019 at 8:11 pm

    I’ve never heard of this chick but I know the type. A slightly hotter Heather Unruh (for now).

    She’s got to be funded big time by parents or some dumb ass husband. There’s no way her place is even making the North End rent. Don’t blink, she’ll be off to NYC in 6 months.

    Washed up Bitches Are Cancer

  • G
    July 15, 2019 at 7:47 pm

    Boy, does she sure sound like a barrel of laughs…a 40 something semi-attractive Massachusetts woman with a mouth on her and an inflated sense of self worth, shocking!

    • Baldric
      July 16, 2019 at 7:08 am

      Credit where credit is due – Jen is at least 80 pounds lighter than the average Massachusetts woman.

  • McElroy
    July 15, 2019 at 6:07 pm

    Wow! One more reason to never go to the north end. What a surprise. No, seriously, it’s a good time if you want to get your car hit by some douche that thinks he’s an extra from the Sopranos.

  • Captain Trips
    July 15, 2019 at 5:34 pm

    I would lay this chick down at one end of a long carpeted room and pound her missionary until we ended up on the other side of the room.

    She’d then have to go to the ER to have the rug burns on her back treated

    Was that too much information?

    • WeRFucked
      July 15, 2019 at 8:28 pm

      3 dislikes? That was fucking funny CT!

    • studly studman
      July 15, 2019 at 9:20 pm

      cunt

  • Ray Torical
    July 15, 2019 at 5:22 pm

    In other words: A washed up nobody, never was, acted like a self entitled cunt. (They all are to varying degrees) I also assume she married up just rub elbows with J-list celebrities on the islands and in town where ever Boston Magazine is out and about. I’m sure it was featured on “dining playbook” or “dirty water tv”. So hip, So with it.

  • John Blutarsky
    July 15, 2019 at 5:18 pm

    Bitch got kicked to the curb by NESN. She has (had) a smoking body, but she is THE definition of buttaface. NESN has no problem getting hotties on their station, so it’s no wonder she lost her gig there. The surprising thing about this is how much of a cunt she is. Not very business savvy to say the least.

  • Melissa
    July 15, 2019 at 4:58 pm

    What an absolute see you next Tuesday. I hope she fails and goes bankrupt.

  • borat
    July 15, 2019 at 4:54 pm

    she has sleeve of wizard! niiiiice

  • That's CAPTAIN Jack Sparrow
    July 15, 2019 at 4:53 pm

    AAAARGH!!!! my mates and I would prefer a hug from one of Totrugas finest ladies of the night instead of one from this scalliwag. where’s the rum?

  • Gash Basher
    July 15, 2019 at 4:25 pm

    A beat up clam holding a crab.

    Ironic.

    • Jefe
      July 15, 2019 at 4:51 pm

      She is blocking tweets like Curtatone now. After last week’s court ruling, Isn’t this illegal for a public figure to do? Ya know, limiting free speech and all?

  • Bostonguy2413
    July 15, 2019 at 4:03 pm

    What would the reaction be if a male restaurant owner, say a Nick Varano for example, spoke to female customers like this, and doxxed one the way she did (notice she didn’t dox the female who wrote the long email to her…girl power!)?

    • Jefe
      July 15, 2019 at 4:18 pm

      You’re absolutely correct. This woman is unhinges. What a fucking lunatic. Here’s to her business failing. Eff her and her crotch-stank attitude.

  • Can't Comprehend the Attraction
    July 15, 2019 at 3:14 pm

    O.k. it has no alcohol. It is only open like 9 hours a week for dinner. It is reservation only to sit at a long crowded table. The “chef” is going to fucking hug you. WTF?!

    • z
      July 15, 2019 at 3:27 pm

      Nothing that the Phantom Gourmet and his brother couldn’t fix. An additional commercial right after the wack job with the pizzas would do wonders. I haven’t watched Channel 38 since I went Hi-Def. I’m assuming the show is still on.

      That station went down the toilet when “Ask the manager” was taken off the air and they stopped showing the Stooges. The 3 not Iggy Pops. And I’ll fight any mother fucker at Faneuil Hall who says different.

      • 's mom blows
        July 16, 2019 at 8:32 am

        I’ll fight you, you homo, bring a machete.
        120 Gaslight drive Weymouth

      • Batman
        July 17, 2019 at 9:21 pm

        Loved ask the manager, great insight to the tv station world. Also loved that meg Lavigne chick. Her voice was sexy af.

  • Massholio
    July 15, 2019 at 2:24 pm

    I have backed off on the marketing of my business because I can’t deal with the new potential customers I am running into where, yeah, I tell them to go fuck themselves on the phone because, they’re fake customers. I don’t do it online. But from now on if I do decide to ramp up the marketing and anybody wants me to do actual work like insisting on meeting me in person (which often involves them not showing up and/or rescheduling… or not) vs email, texting , or phone you’re going to have to put down a retainer before I hop in my car to go anywhere. Also if you o.k. me to do a project I will need a check first (duh). I didn’t have to be this stringent until recently for some reason.

    That being said that I have become an intolerant hardass, I would give the dude his money back and let bygones be bygones.

    • DarthMama
      July 15, 2019 at 3:14 pm

      Love the name

  • Customer Service Top Priority
    July 15, 2019 at 2:23 pm

    Speechless. The place is only open Thursday-Sunday, 3 hours at a time. Maybe a “wait list” would make sense if you want every spot to be filled. But that might involve customer service, something clearly lacking here. I went over to Twitter and checked her out. There are more rants about other cancellations. By the way Jen, you spelled “cancellation” wrong in your tweet. Some people have disputed their charge with their credit card company because they received nothing in return for the charge, and the credit card company gave the money back to the customer. She posted the memo from the company and threatens she should post the names of those customers! Her Wikipedia career info shows her changing jobs about every year. The longest time she spent in one job was 3 years. Something tells me she doesn’t get along well with people. She’s already saying she is closing in 5 years when her lease runs out and moving back to New York where people aren’t as**es (or something to that effect). Great thing to say when you are building a business in Boston!

    • deflateddoritodinks
      July 15, 2019 at 2:45 pm

      Funny she said that since she has her dogs all in Red Sox sweaters, and says she’s like Bostonian to the bone and like “Go Boston Red Sox!” and shit. Kinda weird to be marking time before leaving for non Boston.

    • Corinth Arkadin
      July 15, 2019 at 3:27 pm

      For Fuck’s Sake, another dog mom.

      Yup, everything fits just like that.

    • Conan the Grammarian
      July 15, 2019 at 4:45 pm

      You beat me to the “cancellation” bit, but, as she’s already an ungrateful boss-bitch from hell who could use a Gordon Ramsey intervention, I’ll give her a pass. Its misspelling is as common in normal use and even in the media, as the inappropriate use of the word “comprise.” (Meaning, Turtle Staff, NEVER EVER EVER use the phrase “comprised of.”)

  • ChrisInShrewsbury
    July 15, 2019 at 2:16 pm

    Casual Observations

    1) North End Diners are majority tourist
    2) Tourists heavily rely on Yelp and Google reviews
    3) While Hanover Street is a gold mine for restaurants, the Table location is blah. It’s down near the Commercial street end next to a fucking salon. There’s almost no foot traffic down that end.
    4) It would be a shame if everyone that read this article gave a 1 star review on Yelp and Google

    Oh Yeah…. She seems like a miserable fucking cunt. This dude books his reservation early AM and calls at 8am to cancel (justifiably) and you still hit him up. THEN you berate the guy publicly.

  • The orange Fella
    July 15, 2019 at 2:16 pm

    Let me guess…..she doesn’t support Trump. We know already, you dont like anyone that doesn’t support Trump. Boring!! find a new alley….you can be so much better than bashing people for politics!! I like people that like me…..

    • Dick Scratcher
      July 16, 2019 at 8:49 am

      I like people who fuck off when they’re told to.

      Now, off you fuck.

  • Mr. Kotter
    July 15, 2019 at 2:10 pm

    She should rename her business the ROYLE SCREWJOB!

  • ex customer
    July 15, 2019 at 2:09 pm

    The location of the restaurant is wonderful but the stench of dead fish coming from between Jens legs from her wrinkly old snatch makes the atmosphere toxic!

  • yelp
    July 15, 2019 at 2:04 pm

    I hope people don’t start making reservations at this clam shack with fake names and made up credit card numbers. That wouldn’t be funny at all.

  • JoeMomma
    July 15, 2019 at 2:03 pm

    I serve better food to my dog…….

  • Jen Rolye
    July 15, 2019 at 2:02 pm

    Fuck you whoever wrote this!!!
    If you come to my place I’ll lick all your entrees before they come out!!
    Meet me in the parking lot and I’ll give you a good swift Rapinoe kick to the fucking box!!
    COME ON LET”S GO YOU FUCKING WHORE!!

    • z
      July 15, 2019 at 2:33 pm

      You get the licking idea from the movie Pink Flamingos (tip: Never watch that movie. There’s not enough showers you can take to get the stink off) or Ariana Grande?

  • The Name Game
    July 15, 2019 at 1:56 pm

    Jen Royle? Jen’s roiled… over misunderstandings, tweets and FB comments? I’d hate to see what she’s like when angry.
    And, “look into hiring a PR person to speak publicly for the business?” Can you imagine her reaction to THAT suggestion? A commie lib blue check mark shrill witch of a woman so stuck on herself is NEVER going to cotton to any semblance of civility.
    I’m sure we’ll see a follow-up meltdown after she learns she’s Turtleboy Famous.

    • Jefe
      July 15, 2019 at 4:23 pm

      Right. She is this upset over a cancelled reservation?! That’s just odd. This woman is obviously out of her mind, and has an over inflated sense of self.

  • Chef Tell
    July 15, 2019 at 1:55 pm

    Also it is a “family style dining” restaurant where you sit at a long tables next to strangers like the old Legal Sea Food in Inman Square, and there’s only a 32 seat capacity, and, yes, she does do the cooking having been on Bobby Flay’s show and going to some Cambridge cooking school. It is by no means “high end”, but i’m sure it costs high end like everything in the totally fake North End.

  • Tom Blackburn
    July 15, 2019 at 1:55 pm

    Love how she took some dude’s money then claimed he’s not a customer. I don’t think that word means what she thinks it means.

  • Corinth Arkadin
    July 15, 2019 at 1:50 pm

    Annnnnnnnnnnnnnd that is how you fail.

    Picking fights with people on the internet never works out when you have a business presence. NEVER.
    And then there’s the appearance on Turtleboy.

    Endgame? SHEEET. This bitch is not the chess grandmaster she thinks she is, huh?

    • Staples
      July 15, 2019 at 4:57 pm

      The endgame is that she soon will no longer have a business presence. That was easy!

  • CrispyC
    July 15, 2019 at 1:48 pm

    This bitch is crazy, dumb, and won’t shut the fuck up. If AOC opened a restaurant….

  • Batman
    July 15, 2019 at 1:46 pm

    Hey Jen, you’re turtle famous now. Hahaha. You thought that one guys bad review was trouble…… somehow I sense some bad reviews coming your way. Hahaha you earned em. When you have your own gender calling you a cunt, I think you earned that too. Have a nice day Jen.

  • The Galloping Gourmet
    July 15, 2019 at 1:46 pm

    Honey a full liquor license in Boston is like AT LEAST $245 K to $450 K. How long is temporary for you to come up with a quarter million dollars to a half million dollars? I’d say it is probably a permanent problem. I’m willing to bet that she only shows up at the restaurant on Friday and Saturday nights and had NO IDEA the shit show she got herself into. I’d say the ENTIRE RESTAURANT is “TEMPORARY” not just the virgin bloodies.

  • Frank
    July 15, 2019 at 1:41 pm

    She’s used to everyone kissing her ass because of her looks and connections, I guarantee her mommy and daddy have friends in high places. I would love to tickle her taint. Shit she’s going to find out my personal info and show my wife the post

    • The angry taint
      July 15, 2019 at 4:46 pm

      I love where your heads at…..I’m slightly less angry now

  • ANGRY GIANT
    July 15, 2019 at 1:16 pm

    About the female symptoms of “Beautiful Woman Syndrome”: “Lack of personal and intellectual development. In spite of their lackluster personalities and tendency toward insipid speech, men still speak with BWS women because, well, men are men.” “Predisposition to overestimate their intelligence and other attributes. “

  • Liz Warren
    July 15, 2019 at 1:09 pm

    Nevertheless she persisted My hero

  • Mr. Wood
    July 15, 2019 at 1:04 pm

    It would not be a nice thing if people started leaving bad Yelp reviews on her restaurant, would it? However, in the tradition of Mr. Wood, the answer is would!!! As long as she is muzzled.

  • Pick your fights
    July 15, 2019 at 12:58 pm

    Good thing Jen’s not a cop. With her rage, she’d be in the Chief’s office every day.

  • Fat Nic Varano
    July 15, 2019 at 12:52 pm

    She definitely didn’t public shame an ex boyfriend after getting dumped by sending her 25k twitter followers after him. Because she’s too mature for something like that. She’s just as likely to dump pasta on your head as she is to put it on your plate. Bafungul!

  • Dick Scratcher
    July 15, 2019 at 12:50 pm

    Three little words.

    What. A. Cunt.

    DS

  • Very classy
    July 15, 2019 at 12:49 pm

    First she’s 44….and looks every bit of it; which of course is fine. I wonder why she is so grumpy? Perhaps she’s missing the tag teams in the Yankees locker room? Not sure if that’s how she relieves stress in the past…..but if it is she should definitely take a break from the restaurant biz and head down to the bronx

  • Whitney
    July 15, 2019 at 12:47 pm

    She’s coming after you now! This should be entertaining

  • Gash Basher
    July 15, 2019 at 12:45 pm

    Why is the dishwasher hugging people on the way out and how did it get a blue checkmark?

    • Mike Litoris
      July 15, 2019 at 1:24 pm

      What cunt…
      I wouldn’t go to her restaurant even if she gave blowjobs while waiting for a table.

      • Frank
        July 15, 2019 at 1:43 pm

        I Would

        • z
          July 15, 2019 at 2:00 pm

          Look her up on Wiki.
          Looks like a fucking burn victim. And those were YEARS ago.
          Not,that looks should equate with the person personality everytime.
          But, she is homely as hell with a personality to match.

          She’d be a 3 in the hood, let alone in a good section of town.

          Who in their right mind would follow this dipshit?
          Answer, dipshits of course

Comment on this Post

*

RELATED POSTS
Woman Battling Stage 4 Lung Cancer Turned Away By Tu Moda Spa In Worcester Because They “Don’t Want To Spread Her Cancer”
Washington Nationals 21 Year Old Bryce Harper Just Took The Most Emasculating Engagement Photos You Will Ever See
Google Autocomplete Stereotypes For Each State Will Blow Your Mind