WTF

DCF Case Review For Kim Malpass, Ava Conway Shows Just How Avoidable This Tragedy Was

We urge you to support the Turtleboy Sponsors by doing business with them. Without them none of this is possible: Wormtown BreweryUnion TavernScavone PlumbingMichael GaffneyBennie’s CafeCraftech RestorationJJM InsuranceSmokestack Urban BarbecueAttorney Michael ErlichH-S Trading FirearmsSmitty’s TavernJulio’s LiquorsHomeWarrantyReports.comThe Gun Parlor Range3B AutoPepe’s RestaurantFiresafe Chimney ServicesAttorney Anthony SalernoNorth End Motor Sales, O’Connor Insurance 24-7.

Want to have your business advert seen by over 1.2 million people per month? Email us at [email protected] for more information, and check out our website about types of advertising we offer. Want to make money real fast? We will pay you cash if you bring us advertisers. 

Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook

Click on the image to get your Turtleboy Sports Revolution hoodie or browse other merchandise from the Turtleboy store.

Click on the image to get your Turtleboy Sports Revolution hoodie or browse other merchandise from the Turtleboy store.

unnamed-4

 

It’s been a while since we touched on the Ava Conway story and until a Turtle Rider sent us the completed case review for the foster home of Kimberly Malpass, we hadn’t really had a chance to talk about it. But it certainly answers a lot of questions. For one thing, the children suffered from heat stroke:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.36.41 PM

I know a lot of people were talking about laundry detergent tabs and bath tub accidents. But it was heat stroke. 

The DCF worker who was assigned to the case also cut a lot of corners, including not screening Kim Malpass in the manner required, not making sure there was enough space in her house for 6 kids, not paying attention to how many people lived in the house, not interviewing Kim’s kids, not interviewing the family doctor who had concerns about the children’s medical needs, and not exploring why none of the children’s fathers were in the picture:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.40.57 PM

 

Kim Malpass put her utility and other bills in her children’s names:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.48.33 PM

kim-malpass-3e5b24085ea22540

The Auburn Police Department was called to her home 25 times over a 5 year period (2008-2013), but the DCF employee did not check with the APD. However, it is not required under current regulations that this be done. Probably should be though, don’t ya think?

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.49.24 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.49.31 PM

Kim Malpass had been lying to DCF workers who asked her whether her ex-con boyfriend was living in the house:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.52.29 PM

8603746_G

The DCF supervisor was aware that Kim Malpass’ kids were having trouble in school, and had spoken with a school guidance counselor. School officials filed a 51A after noticing bruises on one of the children, and reported verbal and physical abuse by the live in boyfriend. One of the kids had 23 absences, and another was such a big behavior problem that his teachers suggested that he or she “can’t be brought back:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.08.47 PM

The resource worker assigned to the case did not fill out the required paperwork, and their supervisor did not hold them accountable for this:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.53.42 PM

The family resource worker is required to make monthly visits to foster homes. She missed several of them, according to the records, but claims she did in fact go but forgot to complete the paperwork:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.56.56 PM

Miss Malpass, despite being on government assistance, lived in a home that was basically a revolving door for foster children. Ava Conway was literally placed in the home the DAY AFTER a 24 day old baby was placed in the home:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 1.58.36 PM

DCF policy states that no more than two foster children under the age of two may live in a foster home at the same time. When Ava Conway was brought there on September 20, 2014, she became the third, which violates DCF policy:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.00.49 PM

Shortly after this one of the foster children was reported to have bruises on her, which Kim Malpass blamed on the day care provider:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.15.27 PM

After Ava came in September two more children (siblings) were placed there, but no “overcapacity” forms were approved. Soon afterwards another child, just 14 days old, was placed in the home but the “overcapacity” forms were approved this time. DCF was required to make sure the sleeping arrangements were appropriate, verify Kim Malpass was capable of taking care of all these kids, and make weekly wellness visits. None of these things happened. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.03.26 PM

In a November 28, 2014 report from the family resource worker, they contradicted themselves by saying that the house was not big enough to meet the required safety standards, while at the same time noting that “the home meets all physical and safety standards.” Somehow no one picked up on this. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.19.49 PM

In March of 2015 one of the foster children’s birth mothers told the social worker that Kim Malpass’ boyfriend TOLD HER that he hit the children, lived in the home illegally, and knew that he did drugs. The social worker followed up on this by requesting a CES officer visit the home. When they did they saw what appeared to be the boyfriend in the upstairs window, but Kim Malpass refused to let them enter the home. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.28.51 PM

Kim Malpass denied it was her boyfriend, and claimed it was her brother in the window. However, the social worker and their supervisor determined from pictures on Facebook that he was in fact living there:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.32.42 PM

Soon afterwards this child was removed from the home, but Kim Malpass was not happy that they went through her publicly viewable Facebook page. 

After an internal review the claims against Kim Malpass and her boyfriend were deemed to be unsupported. But yet she had just bailed him out of jail and he was a frequent “visitor” in the home:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.36.42 PM

On August 15, 2015 Kim Malpass called 911 after finding Ava and Samara unresponsive. However, she gave conflicting reports about where she found them. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 2.58.31 PM

Kim Malpass’ boyfriend was in the home on a weekday at noon when the bodies were discovered, despite the fact that she still claims he didn’t live there:

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 3.00.40 PM

Kim Malpass got drunk the night before Ava died and her 8 year old adopted daughter took care of her after 11:30 PM when she came home. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 3.04.48 PM

The medical examiner believes there is strong evidence to suggest that the children were left in a car and suffered heat stroke because there is physical evidence they struggled in the car seats. This would mean they as a result of neglect. 

Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 3.06.21 PM

Turtleboy still doesn’t blame DCF for this. He blames people who worked for DCF. There’s a big difference. If the DCF protocols were followed then Ava Conway would not have been allowed to live in that house. Blaming DCF for the incompetence and laziness of two or more of their employees is like blaming the entire Worcester Police Department because that one cop raped a woman on Bancroft Tower Hill. This doesn’t justify all the DCF policies that were ignored in this home, but the people who screwed up have been “reassigned” while they await termination hearings.

As for Kim Malpass, she needs to be in jail. The fact that she blatantly misled authorities during the investigation of a baby’s death is grounds for imprisonment alone. I don’t know WHY she kept trying to bring kids into a home that was not suitable for raising children, but the fact of the matter is she went out of her way to cover it up to DCF and lied and lied and lied so that she could keep collecting kids. I don’t blame anyone who has it in their heart to want to bring in foster children, but if you’re lying about your life in order to do so then you are a bag of crap.

It’s terrible what happened to this girl, but there are steps taken going forward that can prevent this from ever happening again. Obviously there needs to be more oversight. I feel like every home visit should be documented with pictures and selfies to prove you were actually there. The social worker who didn’t show up three times but claims they did show up could easily document it with pictures. And that worker’s supervisor should in turn demand to see the pictures before signing off on it. Then that person’s boss does the same. I don’t care how many supervisors we need to hire, it’s simply unacceptable to let any more kids die.

Here’s another way the system can get fixed. Common sense tells you that a million kids shouldn’t have been living in a house with a single mom on government assistance. I understand that there’s probably not a line out the door to take in foster kids, but people in Kim Malpass’ situation should immediately be eliminated from the list. If you can’t get your own shit together then you can’t collect foster children. Period.

I will say this – I had no idea what social workers did until I read this report. Each one of these kids basically has their own chauffeur. The foster parents pick them up at day care and school and bring them to supervised visits with their birth parents while they just sit there and watch. I can’t imagine you can be very effective at your job if you have more than a handful of caseloads. And from what Joe Social Worker tells Turtleboy, there’s a lot more than a handful assigned to each worker.

Last thing I’ll say is this. The best way to not get caught up in the system is by being a normal parent who gives your kid the life they deserve. Being a shitty parent and having your kids taken away from you means that their well being is no longer in your control. You can bitch and whine about it afterwards when something goes wrong, but the bottom line is you are a huge part of the problem if your kids are getting taken away from you by DCF.

We urge you to support the Turtleboy Sponsors by doing business with them. Without them none of this is possible. Click on any of them to check out their sites or Facebook pages. 



unnamed-2

unnamed-4

Want to have your business advert seen by over 1.2 million people per month? Email us at [email protected] for more information, and check out our website about types of advertising we offer.

Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook

Click on the image to get your Turtleboy Sports Revolution hoodie or browse other merchandise from the Turtleboy store.

Click on the image to get your Turtleboy Sports Revolution hoodie or browse other merchandise from the Turtleboy store.

 

 

15 Comment(s)
  • Nancy B
    November 28, 2015 at 10:18 pm

    I know Kim Malpass. I couldn’t get over her sister Tamari saying on the news that “her sister Kim, took care of all the kids with ease” and how everything was a horrible ” accident” . I got so angry! when Kims sister said that load of horse sh*t. And then Tamari is dumb enough to go on facebook and post about Kim’s innocence while looking for f’ing sympathy! And Tamaris stupid facebook friends were all like, oh, your family doesnt deserve this, kims a great mom, etc…what a load of bull! Kim is a piece of crap, plain and simple, she’s even had an abortion from what I was told. She used the foster kids for her own personal needs…the more foster kids, the more money she could sponge off of the state. Plain and simple. She lied to the police and for that alone, she should get in trouble for lying. Ava is dead and Kim and the piece of crap boyfriend are murderers for exposing the kids to the heat and her neglecting them so she can go get trashed with some booze and her xanax. I hope they both get whats coming to them. Sooner or later, I’m sure they will. As for DCF, the agency should be permanently shut down as they are just as much to blame. Two innocent chldrens lives are ruined forever because of DCF and Kim Malapass and her boyfriend. I hope Kim never gets herbiological kids back as well. She’s an unfit mother and if she and her family disagree it’s only because everything I am saying is the Gods honest TRUTH and the truth hurts. Can’t get over how Kim is on plenty of fish looking for another guy. What a loser! All that gastric bypass surgery she had done sure didn’t fix the ugliness the witch possesses deep down inside!. Sooner or later she will pay. If not in this lifetime, then when she faces God in the next. And she will answer to him and can’t run and hide from that.

  • Diane
    November 17, 2015 at 1:08 pm

    None of you know the truth about Ava this is her grandmother she was a wonderful mother because she had a disease that flared up and I had a broken leg we needed help they promised to help us and take good care of Ava we called them. Never in my life did I think they were the devil I lost my beautiful daughter and my beautiful granddaughter . And all you people want to do is blame my daughter I hope you all happy that you sent her to her grave

  • linda roderigues
    November 11, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    The poor babies. They cooked to death. There should be charges brought forth. I don’t agree if you’re on public assistance you shouldn’t be a foster parent. There are people out there that are down on their luck and need help but have plenty of love to give to a child. Dcf needs a major overhaul top to bottom. I do put some blame on them for this. If they did their job properly that baby as well as many others would still be alive. May the children rest in peace and the adults rot in hell

  • typical white person
    November 11, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    Just so we’re clear. Foster parents get PAID. Not enough, but they do get paid. Which would explain why Malpass wanted to have so many foster kids. Mo kids, mo money. Very simple. And she’s the lowest form of scum: attempting to profit from young childrens’ misery.

  • BlackandWhite
    November 11, 2015 at 9:55 am

    This whole thing makes we want to vomit.

    Throwing money at a problem does not work. Thank the liberals for this mess. All they care about is “rights” and not lives.

    • Skeptical
      November 11, 2015 at 12:31 pm

      Not any fault of any political affiliation, kid.

      Just a lazy social worker and an evil foster mother. Period.

      By the way, it is having rights to begin with that protects peoples lives. Any human with a heart cares about lives, even if you worship a flying spaghetti monster that notion should never change.

      • BlackandWhite
        November 11, 2015 at 12:53 pm

        From TB article >>Miss Malpass, despite being on government assistance, lived in a home that was basically a revolving door for foster children.<>… the family was known for inter-generational neglect.<<

        I beg to differ. Democrats/Liberals do not want welfare reform. They just keep that gravy train running at top speed. Right here in Worcester, Ray Mariano proposed reform and it didn't fly. People have a "right" to milk the government and not work a day in their life – for those who are ABLE to. This has become a generational way of life! They don't want to have a better life for their multiple children. The Democrats solution is to just throw more money at the problem instead of TRYING to make it better for future generations.

        And it's the same with Foster Parenting/DHS — just throw more money at the problem instead of trying to make a positive difference for the future.

  • Wabbitt
    wabbitt
    November 11, 2015 at 12:44 am

    This sounds like one massive scumbag powered shitstorm. From the birth parents, to the foster parent, to the case worker. Every single one was blatantly incompetent.

  • Dawn
    November 10, 2015 at 11:31 pm

    I believe most DCF workers and even there subcontractors from Catholic Charities all have company smart phones. They should be required to use a time clock type app that tracks there location and then no more workers lying that they visited. visit notes should be also done online so they can not be altered later on without proper notation of an addendum.

  • judyb
    November 10, 2015 at 9:46 pm

    I just want to cry. These poor babies, failed by all of these adults. So many rules, so many guidelines…but people just chose to ignore them.

    BTW – I think the “take a selfie when DCF workers make a home visit” idea is very forward thinking, TB!

    Maybe DCF needs to allow people to volunteer to help with background checks, checking on FB, etc. Of course, then they would have to DO something with that info when they got it.

    • Skeptical
      November 11, 2015 at 12:27 pm

      I can’t imagine how awful it was. How could you ever let a poor baby die by basically being cooked alive?!

      How could these workers care so little that they let this happen? Even if you hate your job this is an innocent child, an innocent baby. How could you care so little about her well-being that you just don’t give a fuck enough to visit or be strict?

      Criminal, lazy, and cowardly. They should all be brought up on charges of neglect, and whatever else a prosecutor can scrounge up as a related charge. An innocent baby died because of all these people, and they need to pay for it.

  • Anb94dawg
    November 10, 2015 at 8:27 pm

    none if that stuff matters if the biological mother and the sperm donor take care of their responsibility first.

Comment on this Post

RELATED POSTS
This Truck Driver Was Really, Really Pissed About The 65 Car Accident Pile Up On 290 In Worcester.
Chinese Guy Jumps Seven Floors To His Death To Get Out Of Shopping With Girlfriend
South African Dude Who Pretended To Sign Language Obama’s Nelson Mandela Speech Is Apparently An Insane Murdering Rapist?