Reader Emails

It’s Time To Submit Your Nominees For The 2014 Dubsy Awards

By J-Dub

For the sixth January in a row, we here at Dubsism will be handing out our coveted awards for various achievements in the world of sport.  But this year, we are doing something different. For the fist time ever, we are opening up the nomination process to the readers of our partner blog Turtle Boy Sports.

We’re doing this simply to grow the numbers of nominations from you, the blog-reading public who clearly has nothing better to do than read this dreck.

Regardless of where you are reading this, the fact you are here means you likely have read a lot of other sports stuff, and therefore likely have a better idea of to whom to give these awards than do the drunken bunch of keyboard droolers on the staff at Dubsism. You can always check out our previous awards should you have any questions as to the reasons for which the awards are given, and if you don’t know, you can also do web search on the people for whom the awards are named.  They are both telling and self-explanatory.

Having said that, here is the Dubsy award nomination ballot. Simply fill in your nominees (be sure to include pertinent facts; links to supporting evidence are always welcome, and depending on the reason for nomination, it may be required by the Dubsism legal department), then copy and paste your ballot into an email addressed to

There are very few criteria for submitting a ballot:

  1. One nominee per category per email.
  2. Nominees must come from the world of sport, and they must fit the category in which they are nominated.
  3. You do no need to nominate a winner in each category
  4. Nominees should have a national presence – as much as your local high school coach might be a perfect nominee, if the rest of us never heard of him, it doesn’t do any good. However, we are willing to make exceptions for awesome stories which have links to back them up.

We also will be giving honorable mentions to the best nominees which are pretty damn good, but didn’t win. For those, we will post your name and a link to your blog/webpage if you wish. If you don’t wish, then don’t give it to us…

For more information on last year’s winners, click here.

The 2014 Dubsy Award Nominee Ballot

Your Name:

Your Blog/Website/Facebook Page so people can worship your brilliant nomination:

The Mickey Klutts Award for Unfortunate Naming

Previous Winner:  Luca Cunti, Swiss Hockey Player

Your Nominee:

The Bobby Knight Award for Achievements in Dramatic Public Meltdowns

Previous Winner: Barry Hinson, head basketball coach, Southern Illinois University

Your Nominee:

The Bevo and Ralphie Award for Mascot Buffoonery

Previous Winner: The Raider Rusher

Your Nominee:

The Budd Dwyer Award for Excellence in Career Suicide

budd dwyer

Previous Winner:  Former USC head football coach Lane Kiffin

Your Nominee:

The Ed Hochuli Award for the Best Call

Previous Winner:  Indianapolis Colts punter Pat McAfee

Your Nominee:

The Jason Sehorn Award for Being Completely Overrated

Previous Winner: The Washington Nationals

Your Nominee:

The Clinton-Nixon Award for Cover-Up Futility

Previous Winner:  Lance Armstrong

Your Nominee:

The Charles O. Finley Award for Achievements in Cheap

Previous Winner:  The Jacksonville Jaguars

Your Nominee:

The Joe Kapp Award for Being Run Out of Town

Previous Winner: Former Texas head football coach Mack Brown

Your Nominee:

The Bobby Layne Award for Best Performance While Drunk

Previous Winner: TBS sideline clothes-hangar Craig Sager

Your Nominee:

The Artis Gilmore Award for Achievements in Hair Boldness

Previous Winner:  Former NBA player Andrew Bynum

Your Nominee:

The Kyle Orton Award for Achievements in Partying

Previous Winner: Johhny Manziel

Your Nominee:

The Vasily Alexseyev Award For Plus-Sized Achievements

Previous Winner: New York Mets pitcher Bartolo Colon

Your Nominee:

The Vinko Bogotaj Award For Epic Failure

Previous Winner: The Houston Texans

Your Nominee:

The Joe Theismann Award For Gruesome Injuries

Previous Winner: Louisville guard Kevin Ware

Your Nominee:

The Gene Mauch Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is given annually to somebody who has been around forever, but never won anything.

Previous Winner: NBA Hall of Famer Charles Barkley

Your Nominee:


Nominations will be accepted until 3 p.m. Eastern (U.S.) time on Tuesday, December 30th, 2014.

Let your voice be heard, Dubsists and fans of Turtle Boy. Together, there’s almost two million of you out there, so let’s really make these awards mean something…we simply cannot let the ESPYs stand as the standard in sports awards. Who gives a shit about what “30 by 30″ movie was the best? Let’s make sure we are giving award for things we care about.

After all, aren’t we as the fans what make sports matter in the first place?

Comment on this Post


Guest Blog: Janay Rice Can’t Stop Tweeting About Adrian Peterson Kicking The Shit Out Of His Kid
Guest Blog: Minnesota Moron Wears Worst Adrian Peterson Outfit Ever
This Ice Dancing Guy Hates Turtleboy Sports So Much I Can’t Help But Respect Him